Skip to content

Chinoy Tv Interview

July 12, 2013

I am Anne Krystle Mariposa, co-founder of Jacinto & Lirio. I’m proud to be Chinoy.

Thank you Nikko for your patience in following up on us re this feature.

 

1.       CAN YOU SHARE TO US THE STORY OF J&L? HOW’S THE JOURNEY OF BUILDING THIS BRAND?

J&L yearbook pic

Jacinto & Lirio started as a thesis and business minor at the same time, back in ADMU. The criteria for us to get in this program was to be able to propose a business idea or product that is unique and not yet out in the market. It was actually Noreen’s Aunt who works for DTI who recommended that we work with the water hyacinth plant as this is one of the major problems that DTI was tackling during that time. Later on we discovered that the government was actually training communities to leatherize these hyacinths into plant leather. Our hearts fell in love with this material, and we saw its potential for the high-end market, not only locally, but in the global scene too. So inspired by the purpose of promoting the water hyacinth, we created Jacinto & Lirio.  Then the rest of the business plan was actually a fusion of our team’s interests which revolved around building a stylish sustainable and empowering brand that embodies Filipino pride.

 

2.       WHO IS ANNE AS A YOUNG ENTREPRENEUR?

laser etch header 2

As a young entrepreneur, I strive to do everything for the glory of God. I believe in living a life with a God-given purpose. And God has shown me that this is where he wants me to be as of the moment. So I place efforts in fulfilling my responsibilities with uncompromising excellence.

AS A SOCIAL ENTREPRENEUR?

Jacinto & Lirio

As a social entrepreneur, I’m very excited by the possibilities of Philippine natural materials in design, especially with the plant leather we have in Jacinto & Lirio. Mainly because I strive to live sustainably and be a steward of the natural environment entrusted to me. I feel that this is where God is teaching me how to be a blessing to other people’s lives, esp to those who need it the most.

WHERE DID YOU GET THE TRAINING?

displayphoto

Like other Chinese families, at a very young age I was already immersed in our family business. During summer and holiday vacations, my mom would always ask me to be the cashier in TERRIE, our rtw retail brand. Then there’s also my education from Ateneo, which is also where I learned about being “a woman for others” Not to mention my professors who has mentored Noreen and I even after graduation.

 

3.       WAS EVERYTHING A PLAN? WAS IT YOUR PASSION?

To be honest, being a social entrepreneur wasn’t at all what I had planned to become. I knew I wanted to be a entrepreneur and build my fashion empire. However, last year I answered an exercise given by a book entitled chazown, which is about knowing God’s dream for my life. There I realized that, yes I didn’t plan to run a social enterprise, but it was already part of God’s plan. The experiences, skills, hobbies and other gifts he has given me and even the traits He is teaching me to embody all connected and pointed out to Jacinto & Lirio. For example, my love for recycling was seen during grade school wherein I would wrap Christmas presents for my friends using newspaper or magazine pages. For my school art projects I usually want my work to be different from my peers. When we were asked to submit a report on all the wonders of the Philippines like the Mayon Volcano, Chocolate Hills etc. instead of just buying a postcard or printing photos like what my classmates did, I did some sort of 3D effect to show each wonder by using old newspaper, recycled materials, crayon shavings and the like to portray each.

 

4.       BEING RAISED IN A CHINOY FAMILY? WHAT ASPECT OF IT THAT HELPED YOU IN YOUR PERSONAL LIFE? ARE THERE LESSONS? HOW ARE YOU ABLE TO APPLY IT IN YOUR LIFE?

Being raised in a Chinoy family taught me how to be frugal, practical and conserve resources which I was able to apply in both business and personal life.

 

5.       MOST LIKELY IN CHINESE FAMILY, THEY ENCOURAGE THEIR SONS TO HAVE BUSINESS? AND NORMALLY, FOR DAUGHTERS THERE’S A DIFFERENT PLAN. YOU? DOES YOUR PARENTS ENCOURAGE YOU TO CROSS THAT PATH?

No, my parents actually encourage me to be self-sufficient and earn my own money.

 

6.       GREATEST CHALLENGE? FAILURES? HOW WERE YOU ABLE TO SURPASS IT? WHO ARE YOUR INSPIRATIONS?

The greatest challenge for me is how to run a business in such a way that Jesus would run it if He had a business. So far, the business man that best exemplifies this is Dylan Wilk, the owner and founder of Human Nature–who also carries Jacinto & Lirio products in all of their branches.

For me, it’s easy to start a business but it’s hard to sustain one and I guess the thought of a business closing down is a great failure for me.

 

7.       BUSINESS ASIDE, WHAT ARE YOUR HOBBIES?

IMG_4237 IMG_4238 IMG_4241 IMG_5021

Designing and pattern making, painting, shopping, watching movies and tv series.

 

8. YOUR SECRETS TO SUCCESS?

Applying the principles of the Bible in running a business or any endeavor. Things will surely fall into place.

 

9.       ADVICES FOR YOUNG ENTREPRENEURS? ASPIRING SOCIAL ENTREPRENEUR, TO PINAYS WHO WANT TO BE AN ACHIEVER?

Know first your God-given purpose in life and from there you’ll know what to do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

