Skip to content

Cats and Dogs

October 31, 2012

Last Sunday, October 28, 2012, Jubilee Evangelical Church held its annual medical mission. Every year, a rotation is done within Pasig City, Marikina City, and Rizal City, and this year, the medical mission was held in Rizal High School, Pasig City.

Anne volunteered in the weighing area, while I (Michelle) volunteered for children’s evangelism.

It was my second time working in children’s evangelism. The first time I tried (2 years ago), it was horrible. I came so unequipped and so nervous. For the first group I handled, I fumbled through a story book about how hardworking ants were. I ended up finishing after just 3 minutes, leaving the kids confused and probably thinking that this children’s evangelism part was useless. It was a good thing that Ate Elsie from a group of child evangelists saw me struggling and helped me. She gave me a wordless book and taught me how to share the Gospel to kids. πŸ™‚ I sat in with her in the next 2 groups that came, and after that I was on my own.

So the second time around, I was feeling more confident. This was my chance to fulfill my role in the Great Commission, after all. I practiced sharing the Gospel to one of my mentors, Achi Trixie, I prayed really hard and asked for the empowerment of the Holy Spirit as I shared the Gospel. There was nothing to hinder me from sharing the Gospel effectively and finally taking part in spreading the Gospel!

As it happened, everything went smoothly. I got to share the Gospel to 16 children, of whom almost all were attentive (save for 1 baby). I was supposed to feel great right? I mean, I took part in spreading the Gospel, but somehow, the satisfaction that everyone was telling me about in sharing the Gospel wasn’t there.

The next day, I finally found out where I went wrong. I joined my mom’s cell group, and the topic for that night was Cat and Dog theology.

Basically, 2 principles sum up the concept of Cat and Dog Theology.

A cat says, “You pet me, you feed me, you shelter me, you love me, I must be God.”

A dog says, “You pet me, you feed me, you shelter me, you love me, you must be God.”

In terms of service, cats work for what they gain, dogs work for what they can give. I realized that my mindset as I prepared to share the Gospel to kids last Sunday was a spot-on example of having a cat mentality (and I’m not even a fan of cats!)

A note though, cat theology isn’t necessarily wrong. In terms of service, it’s not wrong to expect this joy after serving, but the main purpose of someone who serves is to glorify God.

Last Monday’s cell group topic was just a super-poke from God. I was reminded of the main purpose of being a Christian–to glorify God. πŸ™‚

Here are the kids I shared the Gospel to. πŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to next year’s medical mission! I thank God that I’m learning new lessons every year. πŸ™‚

L-R: Princess, Nicole, Charmaine

L-R: Denver, Alejandro

L-R: Faye, Kyle, Ray

AJ

L-R: Clarize, Marian

L-R: Joshua, Harvey

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

