Skip to content

Dear God: Nothing Between us and God’s Love

August 29, 2012

Last August 18-21, I spent my long weekend with God by joining my home church’s annual Powercamp Retreat for young professionals at the Punta de Fabian Resort.

One of the activities we had there was a “Dear God” time wherein we were asked to reflect on a bible passage. To be honest, I don’t think I have been spending my daily quiet times they way God intended it to be and I thank God for this Dear God time wherein I really got to reflect on how great our Savior is and how I can apply it in my life.

In one of our Dear God times, the topic was  “Nothing Between us and God’s Love”:

Romans 8:31-39

31 What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? 32 He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?33 Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. 34 Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died —more than that, who was raised to life —is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. 35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36 As it is written:

“For your sake we face death all day long;
we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”[a]

37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[b] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

The beauty of God’s Word is that the same passage/verse  always has something new to tell you.  This passage gave me insights on friendship. How God is as a friend, how we should be as a friend to Him and to others.

1. Best friends —> Best enemies

Reason?

Betrayal? Boyfriend snatcher?

God loves me so much that I am 100% positive that our friendship will be secured no matter what I do that may offend Him .  In His case, there is actually nothing He can do that may cause to severe our friendship. This is how perfect He is as a friend.

2. No secrets

Have you ever experienced being part of a group but not feeling totally part of it really especially when your “friends” keep secrets from you while willingly share it to others?

With Jesus Christ, I realized that I wont feel a tinge of being out of place because He graciously revealed EVERYTHING there is to know about Him through His Word; and He gives the same interest in getting to know me and developing a close relationship with me.

Like a our earthly friends, he also hopes that I be interested in Him by talking to Him daily about my day and listening to Him as well.

3.  The best advices

It’s amazing how no matter what I’m feeling or experiencing at the moment, He always knows what to say to comfort me or to be happy for me.

These 3 insights gave me a new perspective on how I should be fostering my relationship with Him. After all, He is my bestfriend.

Candid moment with my counselling group:

(left to right) Lynette, Jacq , Ach Ivy (Thank you for listening to me and sharing your personal struggles too during our counselling time), Jen, Frances, me (in TERRIE trousers and semi-backless t-shirt top), Kath

Mitzi Uy: a friend to everyone and the sister I really look up to and best emulates the points I mentioned above of a friend. Like Jacinto & Lirio, she is also helping out housewives from slum areas through Mori Notes. Get one now!

Dalvin Lim: a friend to everyone. You can count on his support in all your endeavors. So let’s support him too in his new baby: Dalvin Travels. Book your local and international flight with him now!

Noreen Bautista: my Jacinto & Lirio business partner blessed with SOOO many friends willing to go out of their way to help her in any Jacinto & Lirio business operations we need help on.

Mhykee Yee: my boyfriend, my bestfriend, my God’s best-thank you for ALWAYS being there for me 🙂 I ❤ YEE!:) Despite his busy schedule as the CEO of  I.T. LOG PARK, I know I can always count on him. Advertise with him now!:)

Terrie Mariposa: my supermom and superfriend. Everything I know about running a fashion business like Terrie, Embellish or Jacinto & Lirio is all thanks to her.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 27, 2012 9:10 am

    oh I just saw this now!! aww 🙂

Leave a Reply

